Tags

, ,

I am still struggling to figure out just what sets off Jonas’ accidents. He will be fine for a period of time, and then the accidents will start again and it takes several days before things are under control. We were up north for nine days at the end of June. Partway through the trip the accidents started. Being on GAPS, I prepared tons of food to bring with, including a few flavors of popsicles. I use coconut milk because Jonas is still off dairy. I had some ripe peaches, so I made one batch with half coconut milk, half kefir. Last summer, Jonas wasn’t interested in peaches, so I figured this was fine. However, he wanted to try them, and I thought, “well, it’s a small amount of kefir, it should be okay.” (And at the beginning of GAPS, he was fine on kefir for a good month). So, he had two in a couple days time. Accidents started and increased through the end of the trip. I blamed the kefir. And I really don’t know. It could have been.

A couple days ago, another bout started. I just don’t know anymore. And then, I thought, maybe he is reacting to cherries. It is the only thing I can put together between the two episodes. He had cherries up north, and I bought cherries at the store this week. It’s possible. He’s had a wet bed the last two mornings. Yesterday he had three BM accidents – pretty loose.

My mom recently found a doctor who is really helping her. He uses meridian balancing, which, as I understand it so far, uses a machine that measures the energy of various acupuncture points to determine allergies, sensitivities, disease, etc. That might not be the exactly right explanation – I haven’t had much time to look into it yet, but basically the machine taps in to the electronic energy pathways of the body.  I am a big believer in acupuncture as I am convinced we would not have our three children without the treatments I received. Mom is encouraging me to take Jonas, and I am going to make an appointment. I think it will be a good opportunity to discover if there are food or environmental intolerances causing him to react. I think this treatment in addition to GAPS will provide us with the best opportunity to get Jonas on a healing path.

Since our appointments a couple months ago with our current doctor, Jonas has been feeling pretty good. The supplements seem to be helping him and he doesn’t have the complaints he did before. So, I guess we will give this new doctor a go, bring along his current supplements to make sure they are a good fit for his body chemistry and see what turns up.

