Tags

, , ,

As I mentioned in a previous post, Jonas started refusing scrambled eggs sometime before age three. This drove me nuts as he previously enjoyed them, and they are such a great source of nutrients. He will eat the whites of hard boiled egg, which is better than nothing, I suppose. But the yolk is where it is at. It is such a rich source of nutrients, and I learned in the GAPS book that “raw egg yolk has been compared to human breast milk because it can be absorbed almost 100% without needing digestion.” (p. 132) Fascinating! We have smoothies for lunch a few days a week, so I have started adding a couple raw yolks to the mix. Sneaky.

But back to these muffins……

I know that bacon (even if it doesn’t have any nasties in it) isn’t legal on the GAPS diet due to the sugar.  The only sweetener allowed is honey. I don’t know if bacon without some form of sugar exists since I believe that it is part of the curing process, but I will investigate because these have been a great, freezer friendly breakfast item that my picky eater will eat! The original recipe comes from Ann Marie at Cheeseslave. The first time I made them, I omitted the cheese because of Nolan (our nursing infant) and Jonas’ dairy sensitivity, and added an egg. We thought they were good, but rather dense. Since I am always looking for ways to get more veggies in Jonas’ diet, I added pureed cauliflower the next time to lighten them up. (Pureed vegetables: another sneaky move for mom’s with picky eaters). I think the cauliflower was just the thing!

Egg and Bacon Muffin

Yes, that is frost on top of the muffin. I told you they were freezer friendly! (We pop them in the oven a few minutes before eating).

Ingredients for one dozen muffins:

8 eggs

4 TBS bacon drippings

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/4 cup plus 2 TBS coconut flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 lb. bacon

1 cup pureed cauliflower (steam until soft and throw it in the food processor)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Fry bacon in a skillet.

3. Blend eggs, pureed cauliflower, bacon drippings and salt in a medium size bowl.

4. Add coconut flour and baking powder and mix until smooth.

5. Crumble the bacon and mix it into the batter.

6. Grease a muffin tin and evenly distribute the batter. (I don’t recommend using the paper cups as the muffin doesn’t come out cleanly).

7. Bake for 15 minutes.

