Tags

, , ,

Just an interesting little tidbit (interesting to me, at least) about Jonas and the connection between food and accidents:

He has been mostly off wheat for the last nine days. There have been two exceptions, and after both, he had accidents several hours later. On Sunday, he had a hot dog bun at lunch, and he had an accident before bed. Last night, we had hamburgers on our lovely sprouted buns that are going to be so hard to give up. He was wet when Ben got him up for his 2 a.m. trip to the bathroom, and then he had another accident around noon today. He has not had accidents at any other time since cutting back on wheat. It could be coincidence, but maybe not.

Now I wonder if it was all the extra wheat (and sugar) during the holidays that caused the significant increase in accidents, and not dairy at all. I’ll have to keep him off the wheat and see what happens when I give him a little raw milk in a couple days.

You may be asking, what in the world food has to do with incontinence. The GAPS book isn’t explicit about it, but I surmise that it has to do with toxins interfering with brain signals. (Too tired to go into details tonight. I am sure it sounds a bit crazy to some. There’s a lot to talk about, and it’s going to take some time to give a full picture of what happens in the body of a GAPS person, but I’ll lay it out as best I can. Soon). It’s hard to believe that one serving of bread could have such an effect on him. Maybe his body got used to functioning without it and when it was reintroduced, it caused some trouble. I don’t know. Something to watch, I guess.

